The Six Guiding Tenets

Reflective conversations for anyone seeking thoughtful company amid change and swirling possibilities.

You're at a crossroads.

Standing at the intersection of yesterday, with its memories or regrets, and the infinite possibilities that tomorrow could bring.

It could be the end of a day, just like any other.

It could also be the end of a relationship, losing a job, or the death of a loved one.

If you'd rather think of something less glum, perhaps it's something amazing [INSERT YOUR DREAM SITUATION HERE].

You stand in the liminal space, trying to negotiate the tension, pulling you in different directions as you weigh your options.

You have to make a decision. How do you move forward when you're not ready to leave the past behind or have no clue which way to go?

I've been at that intersection many times.

I know how heavy and paralyzing it can be. I also know how lonely it can feel.

Now, I should preface by saying I am not a therapist and I don’t have any magic answers.

I can’t solve your problems or tell you which path to take or what to do with your life.

It is all on you.

But I can say, you shouldn't have to navigate it alone.

I'd like to offer you my experience.

I can share what I’ve learned, what I am still learning, what I’ve witnessed, what has worked for me, and what I continue to struggle with despite all my efforts.

My hope is that through sharing my experience, you feel less alone in yours.

Throughout my 40+ years of lived experience, six guiding tenets have encapsulated my approach to personal growth and interaction with the world.

I revisit these whenever I feel lost, untethered, and overwhelmed by the world.

  1. Sit in Your Discomfort
  2. Embrace Boredom
  3. Be Curious
  4. Choose Connection over Conflict
  5. Surrender to Uncertainty
  6. Value Creativity over Consumption

I give you permission to pause.

When I feel myself drifting off my path and away from my purpose, they serve as a compass, helping me navigate life's challenges and inspiring a deeper connection with my lived experience.

More importantly, they give you permission to pause and reflect. Creating the mental space needed for inner clarity.

Join me in exploring these six guiding principles that continue to shape my journey.

I’ll introduce you to each of them through insightful reflections, pull back the curtain on how I actualize them, and together, we will see what we learn along the way.

If you’re seeking thoughtful company amid change and swirling possibilities, I invite you to dive into these reflective conversations with me — they might unveil new inner clarity.

The Six Guiding Tenants

  1. Sit in Your Discomfort
Why Running from Discomfort Is Like Fleeing a Bear: Lessons on Resilience and Courage
You should never run from a bear. First in a 6-part series for anyone who feels adrift and needs direction.
  1. Embrace Boredom
From Agitation to Appreciation: How to Turn Boredom into an Opportunity for Growth
This is the second article in a 6-part series that dives into the guiding tenets encompassing my approach to personal growth and interaction with the world.
  1. Be Curious
Reclaiming Deep Curiosity in a World of Instant Answers
Reclaiming Deep Curiosity in a World of Instant Answers: How Digital Abundance Influences Our Curiosity; Part 3 of a 6-part Series on Personal Growth.
  1. Choose Connection over Conflict
    Coming Soon!
  2. Surrender to Uncertainty
    Coming Soon!
  3. Value Creativity over Consumption
    Coming Soon!